Description

$50 Early Bird Discount Until February 23rd!

CooperationWorks is offering the third session of our flagship training program, The Art and Science of Cooperative Development, on eight days throughout April 2024.  In this intensive training, participants will learn the foundations of assessing feasibility through creating a financial workbook, conducting research, and summarizing their findings.  This training features regular homework and a final project to demonstrate core competencies. Finance Fundamentals also includes guest speakers that focus on feasibility for specific sectors like worker, housing, and ag cooperatives. Corrigan Nadon Nichols, co-op consultant and Certified Management Accountant, will be leading Finance Fundamentals for the fourth year. A full agenda will be released shortly. The course takes place over eight days, with an additional “office hours” session offered after the training as determined by participant availability. The training will be held on the following dates from roughly 11am-2pm PT:

The course runs on Tuesdays and Fridays throughout April. Each day runs for three hours, beginning at 11am PT/12pm MT/1pm CT/2pm ET and ending at 2pm PT/3pmMT/4pm CT/5pm ET.

    • Tuesday, April 2nd: Intro, Roles & Goals, Financial Statements Pt. 1
    • Friday, April 5th: Financial Statements Pt. 2& 3, Financial Model Overview
    • Tuesday, April 9th: Market Study and Revenue Model
    • Friday, April 12th: Market Study & Revenue Model, Market Research, CoGS, Finacial Model: Operating Expenses, Case Study: Ag Co-op
    • Tuesday, April 16th: Development Budgets, Raising Co-ops Capital, Financial Model: Cash Flow
    • Friday, April 19th: Financial Model: Multi-year, Case Study: Housing
    • Tuesday, April 23rd: Analysis: Break-even volume, Case Study: Worker Co-op Conversion
    • Friday, April 26th: Financial Challenges and Strategies, Group Strategy Sessions

A final agenda will be released shortly. You can reference the 2022 Agenda here to gain a better sense of the program flow. Please take note that the schedule this year include more, but shorter, days of training.