Description

Building Blocks (formerly Session 1) provides a thorough but introductory overview into the field of cooperative development. This session lays out the basics of the cooperative model, including governance, feasibility, business basics, and memberships. We’ll cover topics ranging from cooperative history to building your cooperative ecosystem. Participants will learn from case studies that delve into particular topics in co-op development, such as investment cooperatives, conversions, and assisting groups in low-resource communities. Additionally, tours to local co-ops and ample networking opportunities this intensive, productive, and meaningful training.

As COVID-19 has forced us all to change our plans, CooperationWorks is transforming our four-day in-person training into a virtual training held on eight days over the course of a month. While this is the same cohesive and robust training we’ve offered in the past, this format allows participants to register for and participate in select days if they are unable to attend the entire training. Registering for the complete course comes with a significant discount. Length of each day varies, but each day will being at 9am PT/12pm ET and end approximately by 2pm PT/5pm ET. Some exceptions apply.

Register for the entire Building Blocks Online training, featuring eight days of intensive sessions with expert trainers from across the country. This unique, cross-sector training will prepare you to assist groups in developing cooperative enterprises. Participants may register for single days if they are unable to take the entire training. Please see the schedule below: