Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

Let’s Talk About Unions

Lately, there has been a lot of talk about co-ops, unions, union co-ops, and unionized co-ops!  What does it all mean? Throughout 2022, CW is offering a webinar series covering everything you want to know about co-ops and unions and how these models intersect. Join CW and guest speakers in the coming months as we explore the relationship between unions and co-ops!

Conversions to Worker Co-ops in a Union Setting:  A Toolkit

If you’re a co-op developer working with conversions to worker cooperatives, you should be aware of the pitfalls of accidentally crossing a picket line, so to speak, when unions are involved. In this webinar, Rebecca Lurie, founder of the CUNY School for Labor and Urban Studies, will share the toolkit she created for this exact situation so well-intentioned co-op developers don’t undermine labor! This is a must-see webinar for anyone working with conversions! Join us on Friday, April 22nd at 11am PT/12pm MT/1pm CT/2pm ET.

Register Here

A Union Co-op Model: Co-op Cincy at 10 Years

What are Union Co-ops and what’s the overlap with worker co-ops? How can Union Co-ops influence their cooperative ecosystem and what do they look like as they mature? Join Co-op Cincy co-founder Ellen Vera on Monday, April 11th at 11am PT for an in-depth look at Co-op Cincy’s model and its impact on Cincinnati. Spanish interpretation will be available.

Watch It Here

 

March 21st, 11am PT/2pm ET

Frank Cetera, Specializing in Employee Ownership at Onondaga SBDC.

Unions 101: Are you a cooperative member or co-op developer who is a bit fuzzy on the details of how unions work, who joins them, and how they’re formed? Join Frank Cetera, a Senior Business Advisor with the NY SBDC in Syracuse and current CW member, as he covers:

  • What unions do
  • Who joins a union and why
  • Laws that regulate labor
  • What union dues pay for
  • Labor and Union terms such as collective bargaining, just cause, due process, grievances, and more

Frank has served as an At-Large Union Steward and Executive Committee member, for the OCC Federation of Teachers and Administrators – New York State United Teachers Local 1845 since 2014. During this time, Frank also became a graduate of the NYSUT Leadership Institute in 2016-2017.

Watch the Recording
En Español

 

Stay tuned for later webinars in this series. We’ll cover:

  • Conversions to Worker Co-ops in a Union Setting:  A Toolkit
  • Multi-stakeholder Co-ops with a Worker Membership Class